Salat is the obligatory Muslim prayers, performed five times each day by Muslims. It is the second Pillar of Islam.

Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala ordered Muslims to pray at five set times of day:

  • Salat al-Fajr – dawn, before sunrise
  • Salat al-Zuhr – midday, after the sun passes its highest
  • Salat al-‘Asr – the late part of the afternoon
  • Salat al-Maghrib – just after sunset
  • Salat al-‘Isha – between sunset and midnight

All Muslims are to do this. Muslim children as young as seven are encouraged to pray.

The Salat is over 1400 years old and is repeated five times a day by hundreds of millions of Muslims all round the world.

The set salats are not just phrases to be spoken. Salat requires uniting mind, body and soul in worship.  So a Muslim carrying out these salats will perform a whole series of movements that go with the words of the prayer.

The series of movements consist of Takbir, Qiyaam, Ruku, Sujud and Tashahhud.

Muslims have to be in right frame of mind before they pray, often referred to a Niyaat. They have to put aside all worldly cares and thoughts so that they can concentrate only on Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala.

The right state of mind is very important as If a Muslim prays without the right attitude of mindset, it will be as if they hadn’t bothered to pray at all. Also stated in the Holy Quran.

Woe to those who pray, but are unmindful or their prayer, or who pray only to be seen by people. – Qur’an 107:4-6